Week 15 

Ugh because I’ve just got into the academy like 2 weeks ago, everything is just out of wonk. First off, living in Queens sucks. Sorry but not sorry if you’re a Queens person but why is everything so damn far away? And why must I also take a bus? Traveling into Manhattan (for various things  including bib pickup) takes minute and a half and then I have to come back which takes two. 

I’m still adjusting to living arrangements and transportation so last week for my full week of “taper” I did exactly 0 miles of running. I feel like poo but luckily this week I got in a 4 mile run at my favorite spot on Tuesday and then I read on the news that a psychopath runs over 8 people at the bike path that I literally ran at this morning. Unbelievable.

My second priority aside from a few shakeout runs (hopefully I can do one more tomorrow) was to go to my beloved chiropractor. I managed to go to him and I felt much better. But it’s probably going to be messed up again because at the academy I have to carry 50lb of various crap. With one hand. Can they make it so it’s tactically sound to wear a backpack 😦

Last week I was really excited about the marathon but now it’s just straight up jitters. With my schedule doing a 360 on me I’m playing catch up with myself and getting into the swing of things and barely did proper race preparation. At least my outfit is always the same thing so that’s one less thing to worry about. Saturday I’ll probably barely get enough sleep. Sunday I will probably crap myself. AHHHHHHH

The Expo

The expo was ridiculously crowded. Holy crap. I wished I went Thursday but I doubt it would’ve made it any better. Everyone wanted to buy all the new gear and I saw a lot of people carrying like 6 technical sweaters and I’m like damn that’s like a few hundred dollars of stuff you’re holding there. I did buy a graphic long sleeve because it looked cute and bought a new running cap because I felt like my favorite volunteer NYRR hat would fall apart on me and I can’t have that. I went to my running club table to pick up their stuff as well and they gave me a sweet new gym bag.

I can’t believe this will be the last post before the marathon! I hope you get your PRs but more importantly I hope everyone finishes injury free!

3 thoughts on “Week 15 

  1. I know what you mean about transportation from an outer borough, especially if you have to go to westernmost part of Manhattan.

    Crap, I didn’t think to see if my running club had a table. I was in an “in and out” mood. I wished that I could have enjoyed the marathon but I was super late for work bc of my earlier mishap.

Leave a comment